Peace Like A River

103_1004.jpg

I have the day off today to finish refinishing our staircase (a tedious job, but rewarding nonetheless). So I took the opportunity to spend my devotional time this morning walking around in the city park behind my house as a nice snow was falling. The song that kept rolling around in my head was “It Is Well With My Soul“. Probably because of the first line of the hymn – “When peace like a river attendeth my way”. It was so peaceful and beautiful walking through the woods, hearing nothing but my own feet tromping through the 4 or so inches of fresh snow that had accumulated, or the occasional squirrel and birds rustling around, or the soft babble of the creek that is seemingly moments from freezing still.

I was blessed by the opportunity to marvel at God’s beauty in this moment He gave me to enjoy His creation. It is, indeed, well with my soul. I have always loved that hymn, even when I wasn’t walking with the Lord. The words articulate God’s promise to us that in times of peace or in times of sorrow, we can rejoice because we are always in His loving care. We can be rejoice because our sin was nailed to the cross, not in part, but the whole.

The words to this great hymn are below. I encourage you to read through the stanzas and make this a prayer today.

 It Is Well With My Soul

Words by Horatio Spafford

When peace like a river, attendeth my way,
When sorrows like sea billows roll;
Whatever my lot, Thou hast taught me to say,
It is well, it is well, with my soul.

Refrain:
It is well, with my soul,
It is well, with my soul,
It is well, it is well, with my soul.

Though Satan should buffet, though trials should come,
Let this blest assurance control,
That Christ has regarded my helpless estate,
And hath shed His own blood for my soul.

My sin, oh, the bliss of this glorious thought!
My sin, not in part but the whole,
Is nailed to the cross, and I bear it no more,
Praise the Lord, praise the Lord, O my soul!

And Lord, haste the day when my faith shall be sight,
The clouds be rolled back as a scroll;
The trump shall resound, and the Lord shall descend,
Even so, it is well with my soul.

This entry was posted in Creation, Enjoying God, Hymns, Joy and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Peace Like A River

  1. 2verycarrie says:

    Peace like a river when life is churning with the tumultuous waters of life-threatening disease, has caused our faith to sail among the high seas. But not without battening down the hatch and pressing into the winds. Oh what an amazing God, that He teaches us to sail with HIM.
    In His Amazing Grip of Grace,
    Carrie George

  2. Deering says:

    Carrie – Thanks for your words and thank you for stopping by “Journeying On”.

Leave a comment