Dark Times, Faith, and the Presence of God

Ever felt like there was more to your experience than what you were experiencing?  Jacob found out what that was like… In Genesis 28, God records for us an encounter that He had with the man whom He had chosen to be His vessel of blessing to the world. 

Jacob, a scoundrel and schemer – sent away by his father Isaac to find a wife amongst his relatives – sent away by his mother Rebecca to be safe from his brother Esau – flat broke – on his own for the first time – free of mama’s skirt strings – fending for self – alone in the world – laid his head down on a stone to sleep.  On top of all of this, the writer lights our minds to the fact that “the sun had set.”  This really was a dark time in Jacob’s life – but as Jacob found out, God specializes in dark times.

“Taking one of the stones of the place, he put it under his head and lay down in that place to sleep. 12 And he dreamed… And behold, the Lord … said, “I am the Lord, the God of Abraham your father and the God of Isaac. The land on which you lie I will give to you and to your offspring. 14 Your offspring shall be like the dust of the earth, and you shall spread abroad to the west and to the east and to the north and to the south, and in you and your offspring shall all the families of the earth be blessed. Behold, I am with you and will keep you wherever you go, and will bring you back to this land. For I will not leave you until I have done what I have promised you.’ 16 Then Jacob awoke from his sleep and said, ‘Surely the Lord is in this place, and I did not know it.’ 17 And he was afraid and said, ‘How awesome is this place! This is none other than the house of God, and this is the gate of heaven.’”

Genesis 28:12-17

Quite honestly, this passage amazes and astounds me.  It gives me hope and causes me to cry out for the God who is there.  I see much of me in Jacob.  Like him, I can be a conniver, a deceiver, and a schemer.  Like Jacob, there have been times in my life where I have worked to ensure that the blessings God had already promised did in fact become my own.  I told people that God could be trusted and then I went out and acted as if He couldn’t.  And even as Jacob was a usurper, I see that God’s mercy was indeed wide enough to cover the unfaithfulness and doubt that existed.  Indeed, it covers my own unfaithfulness and doubt.  I see the Gospel in this passage, for I see a God who promises deliverance and salvation to Jacob in spite of everything that Jacob has done (and hasn’t done).   

In this passage, God writes several checks that will be cashed by Jacob both at a later date and in the moment… payment so undeserved that the lavishness of the promises boggles the mind.  Land returned and bestowed even after leaving home for a couple of decades.  God’s presence and protection given in order to insure that Jacob makes it back from his travels.  And for all Jacob knows, these promises are going to cover weeks, maybe months, but certainly not years and definitely not decades!  The promise of a family that would spread through all the earth is the great indicator though that God is up to something massive.  God stays by Jacob and reveals Himself to Jacob through many years of what I am sure seemed like a desert of hardship. 

And so, with sleep in his eyes, Jacob comes to the wonderful conclusion that “Surely the Lord is in this place, and I did not know it.”  Ever been there?  I have.  Am.  Will be again.    God was giving to Jacob faith; the stuff without which we cannot please the Lord.  The stuff without which we can’t have relationship with God.  The stuff without which man remains an enemy of God.  The stuff without which the spiritual world remains a myth.

A.W. Tozer, a long time pastor now dead, wrote:

“Faith enables our spiritual sense to function. Where faith is defective the result will be inward insensibility and numbness toward spiritual things. This is the condition of vast numbers of Christians today. No proof is necessary to support that statement. We have but to converse with the first Christian we meet or enter the first church we find open to acquire all the proof we need.

A spiritual kingdom lies all about us, enclosing us, embracing us, altogether within reach of our inner selves, waiting for us to recognize it. God Himself is here waiting our response to His Presence. This eternal world will come alive to us the moment we begin to reckon upon its reality…

Faith creates nothing; it simply reckons upon that which is already there. God and the spiritual world are real. We can reckon upon them with as much assurance as we reckon upon the familiar world around us. Spiritual things are there (or rather we should say here) inviting our attention and challenging our trust.”

As I grow in this thing called the Christian life, I am coming to reckon more and more (like Jacob) that “the Lord is in this place, and I did not know it.”  I want the Lord to close these gaps of blindness more and more each day so that one day I will see more than I do now.  I am not a man of great faith, but my faith is growing and sensing afresh that there is a God who still speaks, who still guides, who still holds and protects, who still moves, who still does miracles.

Tozer, a man for whom I am growing to respect and admire more and more, continued on with his thoughts about faith:

“The spiritual is real. If we would rise into that region of light and power plainly beckoning us through the Scriptures of truth we must break the evil habit of ignoring the spiritual. We must shift our interest from the seen to the unseen. For the great unseen Reality is God. `He that cometh to God must believe that he is, and that he is a rewarder of them that diligently seek him.‘ (Hebrews 11:6) This is basic in the life of faith. From there we can rise to unlimited heights. `Ye believe in God,‘ said our Lord Jesus Christ, `believe also in me.‘ (John 14:1) Without the first there can be no second.”

This is more than just “Matrix” thinking, positively believing that we can somehow overcome a world that is holding us back… blue pill vs. red pill thinking… this is believing that there is truly a world we are called to live in, and that in this world is the God who is. 

 

“As we begin to focus upon God the things of the spirit will take shape before our inner eyes. Obedience to the word of Christ will bring an inward revelation of the Godhead (John 14:21-23). It will give acute perception enabling us to see God even as is promised to the pure in heart. A new God-consciousness will seize upon us and we shall begin to taste and hear and inwardly feel the God who is our life and our all. There will be seen the constant shining of the light that lighteth every man that cometh into the world. (John 1:9) More and more, as our faculties grow sharper and more sure, God will become to us the great All, and His Presence the glory and wonder of our lives.”

 

 The Lord is in this place, and I know it.

 

About Trenton

I'm a remedial learner, both as a student of life and as a follower of Christ. As the Lord enables, I simply want to make much of Jesus in accord with the ways in which He has wired me up.
This entry was posted in Reality and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment